top of page

Why I Gave Up My Moisturizer

I grew up with a mother that made sure I started wearing moisturizer around 12. The I also was taught the heavier the moisturizer the better quality, so we thought. My mother and I slathered it on every night; we could practically hear our skin sucking up the moisture.

I am now an adult with an unhealthy addiction to skincare and all that comes with it. Until just recently, I was the director of an aesthetics school and completed the master esthetics education myself. After leaving the school I was having withdrawals from my favorite skin care products. I was getting such a good price on stellar skin care that it is in fact killing me to pay full price for new moisturizer. So, what to do?

I came across facial oils in 2002. I tried the Decleor neroli facial oil and loved it!!!! More recently I was trying to manage my skin care addiction and started making my own skin oil. I have never been prone to acne so this has worked perfectly for me. I use 6 drops of orange essential oil to 2-3 oz of olive oil.

The problem with a lot of commercial skincare products is that the moisturizing ingredients don't penetrate the skin. High quality orange essential oils contain antioxidants and protect against damaging free radicals. Orange oil also assists with energy and as a mood lift. Extra virgin olive oil is composed of more than 80 percent oleic acid. This substance easily penetrates the skin, and allows the oil to heal damage, reduce wrinkles and improve texture.

Doesn’t oil cause clogged pores?

No. I know, weird right?

Clogged pores, black heads and acne can be caused by a combination of oil and dead skin cells getting under the skin thus clogging up the pores. Without the buildup of excessive dead skin or sores, facial oil will not clog your pores and in fact keeps the skin moist and plump. If you do not have active acne, use an exfoliating brush a couple of times a week, wash your face regularly and follow up with facial skin oil daily.

Isn’t your face too oily?

No, at first I made a huge mess pouring the mixture into my hand and then on my face. Once I got used to the application, I could gauge what was too much or too little. Give your face about 5 minutes to absorb the face oil before applying any cosmetics.

Recent Posts

So Beauty Grows  Contact Us  Copyright 2014 

Friends, We Love 'Em

bottom of page