top of page

Stuck In The Middle

I am 36. (Gulp) There I said it.

I often get comments about looking younger than I am. I understand that those comments are not about looking 20 something, but it seems to shock people that I have a 15 year old.

I am in a rut. A style rut. I feel like I am lost between dressing like I am 25 and 40.

Should I look like I am trying too hard or settle into looking like a mom?

Does it have to be one or the other?

I was just introduced to a girl at my son’s high school that was wearing overall shorts. Yes indeedy. Overall shorts. Although I was an owner of overall shorts in the 90’s it is not ok to bring them back. Obviously this is not a trend I am going to emulate despite my age.

I understand there are those in Hollywood (Christie Brinkley) that look like they have never aged. I know that I will not be one of those people, but do I want to look like I am from Hollywood? Do I have no personal identity of my own?

Being stuck between preppie and hippy I feel conflicted. I will wear a 50’s house dress to church and my ripped jeans and Birkenstocks during the week. Despite my previous life as a beauty product whore, I have no desire to continue the upkeep to my current makeup inventory. I never wanted rhinestones on the butt of my jeans but I love my cowboy boots.

Ok so I know you shouldn’t want to fit in, however I also do not want to stick out like a sore thumb. (Come on we are all judgey a time or two) So this momma is going to wear her ripped jeans and Birkenstocks, break out the cowboy boots on occasion and run to the grocery store in my Converse. That is who I am. I don’t know if any of you have the same concern, but if you don’t like it, change it. If this post bugs you, get over it. If you feel totally different, no worries, I got you.

Recent Posts

So Beauty Grows  Contact Us  Copyright 2014 

Friends, We Love 'Em

bottom of page