top of page

Starting Seeds Indoors

There are many different ways to start a garden. You can by seedlings when the weather gets warmer and plant them outdoors.

Or you can start seeds indoors, all of which have different germination times but are less expensive than many seedlings.

So that is what I decided to do.

The Plan.

First I made a list of the plants I want in my garden.

I then researched when to plant outdoors in my particular state.

Next I looked up the time it takes each plant to germinate.If I intended to put all plants outside on May 15th and it took my tomatoes 8 weeks to germinate and get big enough to transplant, then I would start on May 15th and count backwards 8 weeks. This would tell me when I need to start that particular plant indoors.

Don’t worry.

I have killed many plants and I have saved many plants. Don’t let this discourage you.

Get started.

Start by picking seed medium (potting soil, etc). The best mediums have little to no actual soil in them.

Pick a place where you want to place your seeds to grow while they are indoors. In windows or on a table next to window? I have a room in the basement which has a light fixture with grow bulbs in them.

After you have determined how much space you have, you can then decide how many seedlings you want to grow.

Start with the roots.

Start with the soil. Plants live by their roots. Roots live in the soil. So the most important part of your garden is the part below ground. Most soil around houses isn't ideal for plants, so improving it is the most powerful thing you can do to have a successful garden. How? By adding organic matter. What's that? It's just broken-down plant parts, usually in the form of compost, shredded leaves or composted manure. Organic matter does wonders for soil: It holds water for plants' root in dry times, but also allows excess rain to flow freely away. It breaks dense soil up to make spaces for roots to grow and air to reach them. And it provides food for many organisms that live in soil and provide healthy nutrients to your plants.

Water.

Yes, there is such a thing as too much water. I just watch the soil. It turns dark brown or almost black when moist. Once the soil turns light brown or starts to harden, it needs to be watered.

Recent Posts

So Beauty Grows  Contact Us  Copyright 2014 

Friends, We Love 'Em

bottom of page