top of page

I Did It For A Girl

I have a son that when he was 11 years old struggled with his weight. He was 5'6", 170 lbs, size 10 men's shoe and just finished the 5th grade. I have tried not to make him feel self conscious, but we do try to limit mindless snacking and my husband and I have been waking early with him to do workouts, bike rides, "Just Dance 2", whatever we felt like doing to get some exercise. Shamefully I must say that at times he woke himself and worked out on his own when I was too tired to move.

So, before we started this regimen every morning, we were doing it occasionally (we now are more diligent). But, one morning I woke to what sounded like elephants in the living room. My 11 yr old was dancing away to "Rasputin". Note: I had not heard this song until the Just Dance video game provided it as one of the selections. The song is disco and sings words to the effect of "Ra-Ra-Rasputin, lover of the Russian queen, there was a cat that really was gone. Ra-Ra-Rasputin Russia's greatest love machine, it was a shame how he carried on..." I know, so wrong, yet so right.

Back to the story, so there he was dancing his little heart out. I smiled at him and started breakfast. Later that day after school, my son told me that he had decided to work out for "personal reasons". Then he gave me the "look" which suggested he would like to tell me more. So, I asked him what "personal reasons" meant and he stated to me that he could tell me when his father, little sister and little brother are out of the room. I then asked them to leave. Once we were alone my son said that he "did it for a girl". He wanted to work out for a girl. I asked him if she knew he liked her. He said he told her after school that he "likes, likes her". She then apparently said "thanks" in return. My son then continued the tone in which this girl responded, "but in a nice way, not like a snotty thanks". So, he decided to turn himself into a workout fool, dancing to tale of Rasputin, for the love of his life that he intended to play Magic cards with later.

Oh to be 11 again.

Recent Posts

So Beauty Grows  Contact Us  Copyright 2014 

Friends, We Love 'Em

bottom of page